I had planned on waking up early this Sunday morning to work on the many assignments I have due soon, but when I opened my eyes and saw the cloud-darkened sky contrasting the bright yellow leaves, I decided to stay cozy in bed a bit longer. When I finally committed to getting up, I walked the few minutes over to the dining hall for breakfast and talked with a dear friend about climate change and sustainability over smoky Russian Caravan tea and coffee while the sky opened up and started dumping big snowflakes across the landscape. Just as we were about to go back to our cabins to be productive, some friends excitedly informed us that there were moose just outside the dining hall: a mother and calf after the plentiful willows around campus. We stood on the porch watching these wild moose eat from a closer distance than I’ve been to any wild animal. We relocated inside where they ate just inches from the picture window where we all stood in wonder.

Mother moose stripping willow branches
Mother moose stripping willow branches
Skiddish calf moose looking suspicious
Skiddish calf moose looking suspicious

Had I gotten up any earlier or chatted for any less time, I would have missed these beauties! What better way to start a Sunday morning?

