As the temperatures drop and the snow starts to accumulate, I’ve noticed that we outdoorsy folk tend to do more crafting. Knitters start picking their needles back up, fly tiers start making new seasonal flies, and alterations start being made to winter gear. After a lovely evening of knitting, woodburning, fly tying, and cribbage with some fellow grads this evening, I remembered my craftiest summer moment working on a Maine island last season. We discovered some clay in one of the beaches at low tide and decided to make some bowls and even fire them in our woodstove. We tried a couple glazing techniques–Joe tried a shell, borax, ash, toothpaste, etc. combo and I simply tried burnishing (per Joe’s suggestion). Burnishing is a process where you rub down the mostly dried clay with the back of a spoon prior to burning a couple times until it’s polished.

Joe's slab bowl is on the left, my pinch pot is on the right.
Joe’s slab bowl is on the left, my pinch pot is on the right.
Left- Joe's hand-mixed painted on glaze, Right- my burnished bowl
Left- Joe’s hand-mixed painted on glaze, Right- my burnished bowl
