At this particular calendar juncture, I like to reflect back on the past year and look forward to the next year.

Here are some of my favorite Partridge, Pine, and Peavey posts from the past year:

Tracking on Skis

Pickling Mountain Whitefish

The Moon of the Popping Trees: Frost Cracking

Coyote Puppies. And Some Thoughts on Respecting Wildlife

Flowers can be Parasites, Too

The Underappreciated Skunk

Questions and Comments Experienced at a National Park Visitor Center

Harvesting Chaga

The North American River Otter

There was plenty of fodder for Partridge, Pine, and Peavey in 2014–I lived in the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem of Wyoming for 8 months, drove back to my home bioregion of New England, and busily worked on re-familiarizing myself with New England’s natural glories after more than a year away. Much of my academic, professional, and personal life was (as I aim to have it be) outdoor-based. However, despite 2015 looking like it will be a challenging final push towards completing my Master’s in Resource Management and Conservation and having to work and learn inside more than I would like, I am determined to keep developing this blog and attracting more followers to inspire curiosity and care for the natural world. In order to accomplish this perhaps vague-sounding goal, here are my two smaller goals:

1. Double the number of Partridge, Pine, and Peavey followers. I currently have 126 official WordPress/Email followers, can I get 250 by 2016? If you haven’t already and enjoy reading my posts, please click “Follow” to your right to receive an email every time I make a post or click “follow” above if you’re already a WordPress user. I also just started Twitter and Tumblr accounts. If you use either of those, follow me there as well. Twitter: @hazel_partridge. Tumblr: hazelpartridge.tumblr.com. (I’m knew to these social media venues, so also don’t hesitate to send along any advice!) And if you like what you see, please share my blog with your friends and family.

2. Publish 2 posts per week. I have stuck to publishing one post per week for 2014, so I’m hoping to double that in 2015. Excerpts from my undergraduate senior project on the ethnobotany of Northern New England will make regular appearances in 2015 (in addition to my general natural history information and adventure photos and stories); if you’re interested in the uses of plants by humans and our contemporary reliance on traditional knowledge in general, certainly stay tuned (and follow Partridge, Pine, and Peavey).

Here’s to another year of exploration and learning in the outdoors!

partridge

