Wyoming Snowshoe Hare  changing its coat in Yellowstone, April 2014
Wyoming Snowshoe Hare changing its coat in Yellowstone, April 2014

Just as I changed to a lighter coat last week as our longer, sunnier days started teasing about impending Spring, the northern critters that change from brown to white in the winter are just starting to change their coats back to brown. They have to change their coats a bit more gradually than I can, given my ability to make a split second choice between two outerwear possibilities, but they make the transition nonetheless.

Two of the most common species known for changing their coats for the winter are the short-tailed weasel, or ermine, and the snowshoe hare. While I have seen both of these species in person on a few occasions, I never have managed to take great photos of either of them. Their tracks are much more common to see and much easier to photograph.

Ermine Tracks
Ermine Tracks
Snowshoe Hare Tracks
Snowshoe Hare Tracks
