“Tree squeak soup is a delicious concoction made of the audible vibrations created in the atmosphere by two trees rubbing together. It is best when flavored with a strong wind and an imaginative mind.” -Cy Hessenauer, New Hampshire Logger, 1938

I have been reading Northern Woodlands magazine since discovering it in September–a magazine with quite a similar theme to this blog. Northern Woodlands does a fabulous job of combining ecological, economic, and human interactions all in one nature-appreciating publication that comes out quarterly. The Spring 2015 edition features journal entries (collected by author Jamie Sayen) from a New Hampshire logger struggling to make ends meet in the 1930’s. Cy Hessenauer epitomizes what I consider to be the diminishing art of interacting with the outdoors. He kept a regular journal where he recorded phenology and human and wildlife interactions. His entries exemplify a unique respect of the natural world that I have not seen in many people but my late grandparents.

“Cut the biggest one yet a birch. I felt badly about having to cut it down. It probably was a tree when the Indians were here and it saw the spruce forest in which it grew cut and another forest grow in its place and I had to cut it down.” -Hessenauer, 1941

A web among the trees
A web among the trees

“For my camp wood I am like a spider. I go out and pounce on a piece of wood and lug it into my web and there I digest it.” -Hessenauer, 1941

