Welcome to Partridge, Pine, and Peavey’s updated layout! I thought it was about time for a change and my annual year in review.

2016 was quite a year….Compounding the unfortunate political climate, I also had a lot going on: I moved back to Maine after completing my Master’s degree out of state, I co-founded an organization dedicated to fostering personal and community resilience through outdoor education (it’s called Maine Outdoor School. Check it out.), I got married, and I grew a big garden.  Needless to say, 2016 was not Partridge, Pine, and Peavey’s most exciting year. I think annual reflection is important, however, so I’ll review this blog’s fourth year of existence nonetheless.

The most viewed posts on Partridge, Pine, and Peavey were from years past–notably Red Fox or Gray Fox and Pickling Mountain Whitefish. Apparently I was not the only one who struggled to find a comprehensive resource on the differences between red and gray foxes. I am glad to see that my version has continued to be useful. Another popular post was my Plants and People series, which I concluded at the beginning of 2016. I also published most of that original project in collaboration with Martin C. Michener as part of the Mt. Kearsarge Indian Museum Plant Guide. If you live near southern New Hampshire, you can purchase that e-guide at the museum and use it for reference and/or for guiding your walk around the museum’s trails!

While I did not post as consistently in 2016 as I did in previous years, I still managed to write and photograph my experiences on several short outdoor adventures. Moving back to Maine reminded me of the interesting diabase dikes that exist along some of the coastline, for example, which I wrote about here. Similarly, I was thrilled to be back in the land of cranberries; I recounted one cranberry-harvesting day here: In Search of Cranberries.

The dark tones that pervaded the world surrounding the US election this fall pushed me to get out and appreciate the underappreciated more than usual, through this post: Red Squirrels: Focusing on the Familiar. But wonderful, rare, and unique experiences occurred during 2016 as well: seeing Snowy Owls and Supermoons to name a few.

In 2017, I aim to reinstate my blogging rhythm as I’ve found that any excuse to get outside, write, and photograph is much needed to balance out the demands of my current administrative role. I am also pursuing paid writing opportunities to balance out the income of said administrative role, so please leave a comment if you have any ideas…

third-machias-lake-9
Photographing the sunrise fog over Third Machias Lake, ME

 

Thanks to all of you who have continued to read and engage with Partridge, Pine, and Peavey! Here’s to another year of cranberries, owls, fish, and a clear night sky.

 

